Day 33 - Reisverslag uit Craignure, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Martijn Adema - WaarBenJij.nu Day 33 - Reisverslag uit Craignure, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Martijn Adema - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 33

Door: Martijn

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Martijn

22 Augustus 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Craignure

Today is the 22nd of August and I have just arrived on Mull.
My initial plan was to take the ferry to Mull yesterday, but unfortunately I fell ill and wasn't in a state to do anything.
That morning's shift also didn't go very well and I had to rely on my fellow helpers to clean the guest house. Which was very unfortunate.
Luckily I recuparated soon enough to be able to take the ferry to Mull the next afternoon at 2 o'clock. I was an absolutely beautiful but windy trip across the bay towards the island, but the sight from the ferry at all the extraordinary islands was absolutely breathtaking.

I arrived here on the island at around 3 o'clock. The first thing I had to figure out was whether or not there were still any vacancies in the bunkhouses or B&Bs. Across the ferry dock there is an information point where I asked for some directions. The lady there pointed me towards the local bunkhouse some 200 yards to the south.
After I found the bunkhouse I entered what I thought would be the reception, but it turned out to be the Craignure Inn next to the bunkhouse.
The barman there told me the reception to the bunkhouse was right next to them and I went to take a look. Unfortunetely the bunkhouse is currently closed 'till 4 and I'm forced to wait until they open again until I can ask if they have any spare rooms left.
It's nearly 4 o'clock so I will go over there in a minute.

The bunkhouse still had plenty of room and the owner is a real nice lady who told me a little bit more about how to get to Duart Castle from Craignure.
She pointed me the way towards the castle and even though it was already half 4, the castle closes at 5, I decided to walk there anyway since I really wanted to see it.
It took me about an hour to get to the castle and I arrived there at around half 5.
There were some boys playing around the castle and there seemed to be personel in the castle who were about to close.
After enjoying the view for some time I approached the boys who were sitting on the stairs to the castle door and I asked them jokingly if they worked here.
One of the boys replied that his grandad actually owns the castle and that he himself was a Maclean as well. He then offered to ask his parents if he could show me around the castle real quickly since I came all the way from Craignure and wasn't able to make it in time.
However, he wasn't allowed to so I politely thanked him for his efforts. To compensate for the fact that I could only see around the castle from the outside he offered me a leaflet with information about the castle.
Although the first leaflet he offered had a lot of information which was mostly written in French, since they'd ran out of English copied, he gave me a different leaflet instead. It had less information on it, but I still appreciated it.
The walk towards the castle was beautiful and I took a lot of great pictures of the surroundings and the castle itself.
I returned to Craignure at around 8 o'clock and had a lovely meal at the Craignure Inn; highland beef burger with chips and salad.

I'm currently at the Craignure Bunkhouse where I will stay the night to wake up tomorrow at half past 7 to take the bus to Fionnphort on the other side of the island.

  • 25 Augustus 2014 - 10:00

    Ruurd Adema:

    leuk verhaal Martijn en ook hele mooie foto's. Ik zie dat je ook veel mensen ontmoet.Interessant. Weet je al wanneer je naar Bath gaat? Hier gaat alles z,n gangetje. Ik heb gelukkig over twee weken twee sollicitatie gesprekken bij twee bedrijven(een in Bunnik bij Utrecht en een in Woerden). Eindelijk na 1,5 jaar. Ik hoop dat een van beide het wat wordt, want het zijn alle twee hele interessante functies. Ik hou je wel op de hoogte.
    groetjes paps

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Craignure

Martijn

Actief sinds 28 Juli 2014
Verslag gelezen: 176
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20112

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Juli 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

28 Juli 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

21 Juli 2014 - 31 Augustus 2014

MartijnInTheUK

Landen bezocht: